Posted January 26th, 2014 by 1Wrestling News Team

By Sean Ross Sapp (@SeanRossSapp)

2012 saw Kane’s long streak of Royal Rumble match appearances end. He also is one elimination short of the all-time eliminations record, held by Shawn Michaels.

Kane has appeared on every Royal Rumble pay-per view since 1996.

Scott Hall was never in a Royal Rumble Match, but did win a WCW World War 3 match. Also, an impostor Razor Ramon, Rick Bognar, was in the 1997 Rumble match.

Mick Foley has been in the Royal Rumble under 4 personas (Mick Foley, Mankind, Dude Love, Cactus Jack), Rikishi as 3 (Fatu, The Sultan, Rikishi), and Kane as 3 (Isaac Yankem, Diesel, Kane)

The Godfather was in the Royal Rumble under five gimmicks (Papa Shango, The Supreme Fighting Machine Kama, Kama Mustafa, The Godfather, and The Goodfather).

The Godfather’s first Royal Rumble was in 1993 as Papa Shango; his last was 20 years later, under the Godfather persona.

Despite spending 48 minutes in the 1996 Royal Rumble, Triple H didn’t eliminate any opponents.

Hulk Hogan is the only man to win the Royal Rumble while holding the WWE title.

Over 1/3 of Entrants in the 2004 Royal Rumble went on to work for TNA.

Shawn Michaels has eliminated Marty Jannetty, Diesel, and Triple H from Royal Rumble matches—all former tag team partners of Michaels’

The 2014 Royal Rumble match will see its 300th different superstar in match history—there have thus far been 298 superstars in the match.

Shawn Michaels has participated in Royal Rumble matches in the 80’s, 90’s, 2000’s and 2010’s.

Half of the entrants in the 2004 Royal Rumble were WCW, WWE or World Heavyweight Champions at some point in their careers, the most of any Royal Rumble.

All three women who have been in the Royal Rumble match (Kharma, Beth Phoenix and Chyna) have eliminated male opponents.

Royal Rumble 1996 was the first to feature entrance music for all wrestlers.

The 2008-2011 streak of Royal Rumble winners failing to win their respective titles at WrestleMania was the longest in history.

The only years that no competitor eliminated at least 6 Superstars were 2005 & 2013. However, Edge and Batista both eliminated 5 each in ’05, and Sheamus and Ryback eliminated 5 in 2013.

John Cena lasted just over 22 minutes in the 2010 Royal Rumble, which was the longest that year, the year before, ten superstars lasted longer.

Every Royal Rumble has been won by an eventual WWE/WCW Champion or Hall of Famer.

Despite going out of business in 2001, every Royal Rumble since 2000 has featured a former WCW Champion.

From 2005 to 2010, the last wrestler eliminated from the Royal Rumble went on to also have a world title match at Wrestlemania.

Before John Cena in 2013, the last time a Royal Rumble winner challenged for the WWE title at Wrestlemania and won, was Brock Lesnar in 2003

It took more men to eliminate Viscera (eight in 2007) than any other Royal Rumble participant in history, breaking his own record from 1994, when it took 7.

Wrestlers from the USA, Canada, Ireland, and Mexico have won the Royal Rumble

Bob Backlund (1993) and Triple H (2006) both lasted over an hour in the Rumble match, and didn’t win.

Andre the Giant (1989) , Randy Savage (1992), Ahmed Johnson (1997), Mil Mascaras (1997), Faarooq (1997), Drew Carey (2001), Kane (1999), Mick Foley (2004) and MVP (2010) all eliminated themselves from the Royal Rumble.

Neither of the Dudley Boyz participated in a Royal Rumble match.

Royal Rumble entrants have entered at intervals of 60, 90, and 120 seconds throughout the history of the Rumble.

Of the fifteen superstars over 400 pounds or 7 feet tall, only Yokozuna has won the Royal Rumble.

The Number 1 and 2 entrants have won the Royal Rumble four times.

The Undertaker has drawn number 30 three times.

22 of the 30 entrants in the 2002 Royal Rumble would go on to work for WCW.

The only Superstar to win a 30 man Rumble to draw a number between 9 and 21 was Shawn Michaels in 1996..until John Cena did it from the #19 spot in 2013

‘Nature Boy’ Buddy Landel was slated to be in the 1996 Royal Rumble, but was pulled and given a WWF Title match with Bret ‘The Hitman’
Hart on a Saturday morning episode of ‘WWF Mania’ instead.

Shawn Michaels, Triple H, and Bob Holly were thrown over the top rope by Vader in 1996 (who had already eliminated), but it was disallowed, the only time that rule was enforced.

Follow Sean Ross Sapp on twitter, live tweeting for all major live MMA and Pro Wrestling events!


Category: Wrestling.

Tags: , .

Add Your Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *