Posted January 26th, 2013 by 1Wrestling News Team

Reporter Sean Ross Sapp has compiled an interesting list of facts regarding the Royal Rumble;

Scott Hall was never in a Royal Rumble Match, but did win a WCW World War 3 match
Mick Foley has been in the Royal Rumble under 4 personas (Mick Foley, Mankind, Dude Love, Cactus Jack), Rikishi as 3 (Fatu, The Sultan, Rikishi), and Kane as 3 (Isaac Yankem, Diesel, Kane)
The Godfather was in the Royal Rumble under five gimmicks (Papa Shango, The Supreme Fighting Machine Kama, Kama Mustafa, The Godfather, and The Goodfather)
1/3 of Entrants in the 2004 Royal Rumble went on to work for TNA
Half of the entrants in the 2004 Royal Rumble were WCW, WWE or World Heavyweight Champions at some point in their careers.
All three women who have been in the Royal Rumble match (Kharma, Beth Phoenix and Chyna) have eliminated male opponents.
The 2008-2011 streak of Royal Rumble winners failing to win their respective titles at WrestleMania was the longest in history.

The only year that no competitor eliminated at least 6 Superstars was 2005. However, Edge and Batista both eliminated 5 each
John Cena lasted just over 22 minutes in the 2010 Royal Rumble, which was the longest that year, the year before, ten superstars lasted longer.
Every Royal Rumble has been won by an eventual WWE/WCW Champion or Hall of Famer.
Despite going out of business in 2001, every Royal Rumble since 2000 has featured a former WCW Champion
From 2005 to 2010, the last wrestler eliminated from the Royal Rumble went on to also have a world title match at Wrestlemania.
The last time a WWE Royal Rumble winner closed the show was Batista at WrestleMania 21.

The last time a Royal Rumble winner challenged for the WWE title at Wrestlemania and won, was Brock Lesnar in 2003

It took more men to eliminate Viscera (eight in 2007) than any other Royal Rumble participant in history, breaking his own record from 1994, when it took 7.

An American wrestler hasn’t won the Royal Rumble since 2009.

Wrestlers from the USA, Canada, Ireland, and Mexico have won the Royal Rumble

Bob Backlund (1993) and Triple H (2006) both lasted over an hour in the Rumble match, and didn’t win.

Andre the Giant (1989) , Randy Savage (1992), Ahmed Johnson (1997), Mil Mascaras (1997), Faarooq (1997), Drew Carey (2001), Kane (1999), Mick Foley (2004) and MVP (2010) all eliminated themselves from the Royal Rumble

Neither of the Dudley Boyz participated in a Royal Rumble match.

Royal Rumble entrants have entered at intervals of 60, 90, and 120 seconds throughout the history of the Rumble.
Of the fifteen superstars over 400 pounds or 7 feet tall, only Yokozuna has won the Royal Rumble.

The Number 1 and 2 entrants have won the Royal Rumble four times.
The Undertaker has drawn number 30 three times.

22 of the 30 entrants in the 2002 Royal Rumble would go on to work for WCW.

The only Superstar to win a 30 man Rumble to draw a number between 9 and 21 is Shawn Michaels in 1996

‘Nature Boy’ Buddy Landel was slated to be in the 1996 Royal Rumble, but was pulled and given a WWF Title match with Bret ‘The Hitman’ Hart on a Saturday morning episode of ‘WWF Mania’ instead.

Shawn Michaels was thrown over the top rope by Vader in 1996 (whom he’d already eliminated), but it was disallowed, the only time that rule was enforced.

Follow Sean Ross Sapp on twitter, live tweeting for all major live MMA and Pro Wrestling events!

Category: Wrestling.

Tags: .

Add Your Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *